TeenyBites' Blog

TeenyBites for everyone!

Wilton Cake Decorating Class September 9, 2010

Filed under: Everything Else — mebejamiet @ 10:50 AM

So I went to my cake decorating class last night…and LOVED it! I had so much fun. Our class is rather small, so that makes it a little more fun. All of the ladies in the class are really nice and the instructor is awesome! The instructor told us that we would be making wedding cakes by the end of the class. I don’t know about all of that! I think I will just stick to my teenybites! Last night was basically just going through supplies and then the instructor gave us a DELICIOUS recipe for buttercream icing. I am convinced that there is no icing in the world better than this. It has TWO POUNDS of powdered sugar in it. Yeah. Told you. I’ll post the recipe later. I think it’s an old Wilton recipe. However, they have since changed the recipe. The old one is SO much better than the new one. Words can’t really describe the difference in taste between the two recipes.

As for supplies for the class, we were required to purchase a Wilton Decorating Basics Student Kit.

It comes with all kinds of stuff. This was $34.99 (I think) at Michaels. I had a 50% off coupon though! I love saving money while spending it! I will still have to purchase a few more things for next week’s class, but I have more 50% off coupons in my wallet!

I can hardly wait until Sunday! That’s when the coupons start!

 

2 Responses to “Wilton Cake Decorating Class”

  1. Thea Says:

    I’m so glad you’re taking these classes! What’s your instructor’s name? And have you signed up on the Michaels website to receive coupons via email? If you haven’t, you definitely should! They send them out weekly and you can print as many as you want.
    Also, when I took the class, there were some things I had to buy that I know I will never use again- like, piping gel- I have a whole container of it sitting at home. So, if you come across something you don’t want to buy because you know you won’t use it, let me know and you can use mine!

    • mebejamiet Says:

      Thea! I need piping gel for Monday’s class! It would be wonderful to not have to buy the stuff, especially if you’re saying I won’t ever use it again! I’ll give you a call this weekend. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

